

# Canton Public Library Board of Trustees General Meeting Minutes

### November 21, 2024 - 7:30 PM

The Chairperson, A. Iqbal, called the meeting to order at 7:42 PM. Present: H. Abdu, N. Eggenberger, A. Iqbal, J. Lee, A. Wahby, A. Watts

Absent: None

Also Present: S. Bewick

## **CALL TO AUDIENCE**

Present: K. Bounds, C. Isakson, M. Hathaway, D. McHugh, M. Nicholson, M. Siegrist, C. Swanberg, F. Wahby
No comments

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

The agenda was approved by unanimous consent.

### **APPROVAL OF GENERAL MEETING MINUTES**

The minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

# **APPROVAL OF CLOSED SESSION MINUTES**

The minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

## **COMMUNICATIONS**

None

## **DIRECTOR'S REPORT**

None

## **TRUSTEE COMMENTS**

A. Iqbal congratulated the library for its inclusion in the Detroit Free Press 2024 Top Workplaces Awards and praised the library and its staff. J. Lee agreed and said it was an honor to attend the award ceremony and to see the library recognized alongside many other great organizations.

A. Watts welcomed Trustee H. Abdu and Trustee A. Wahby to the board; N. Eggenberger welcomed the new trustees and encouraged them to feel free to ask questions as they settle into their roles.

A. Iqbal reported back after attending the Friends of the Library board meeting in November. She thanked the Friends for their hard work and said it was a privilege to attend.

## **UNFINISHED BUSINESS & GENERAL ORDERS**

*Michigan CLASS Local Government Investment Pool* – The board consensus was to request that Michigan CLASS Senior Director Jeff Anderson return to provide the new trustees with an overview of the investment pool before moving forward with a resolution. The library will reach out to request an overview at the December meeting.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

**2025 Board Officers** – A. Iqbal advised that board officers have two-year term limits; since the current slate of officers has served for two consecutive years, they cannot serve again in 2025. Additionally, since the term of former Secretary-Treasurer C. Spas had concluded, the board would need to elect a new Secretary-Treasurer for the remainder of 2024.

N. Eggenberger moved, and A. Watts supported a motion to elect Jasmine Lee as Secretary-Treasurer for the remaining two months of 2024.

## The motion passed unanimously 24/11-21-1 (6-0-0)

N. Eggenberger moved, and A. Wahby supported a motion to elect a slate of 2025 Board Officers consisting of Chairperson Jasmine Lee, Vice Chair Amina Iqbal, and Secretary-Treasurer Amy Watts.

The motion passed unanimously 24/11-21-2 (6-0-0)

#### **CALL TO AUDIENCE**

No comments

#### **ADJOURN**

The meeting was adjourned at 8:04 PM.	
Jasmine Lee, Secretary-Treasurer	-